kshimkus@northshire.com's blog

Share this

Arcadia by Tom Stoppard - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Arcadia Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126993
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Grove Press - July 11th, 2017

If you're like me, and you like your witty banter served with a side of metaphysical philosophy and spiced with a mix of academia & sex, this is the dish you want to serve to your reading brain tonight ;-)x Written by the author of Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are Dead, Shakespeare in Love, and Brazil, Tom Stoppard's story of research into Lord Byron's missing letters and the characters living around him is everything you could desire in a painfully smart comedy. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book by Jomny Sun - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062569028
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Harper Perennial - June 27th, 2017

The title says it all: this book of misspelt philosophy and simple illustrations helped get me through a rough patch. If you're feeling a little less humabn as you struggle with anxiety, purposelessness, the void, and the inexorability of death, well, this book will take you there and leave you better.

*humabn* is a purposeful spelling error. Just trust me.~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Resistance, Rebellion, Life: 50 Poems Now by Amit Majmudar - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Resistance, Rebellion, Life: 50 Poems Now Cover Image
By Amit Majmudar (Editor)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781524711320
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 23rd, 2017

Each of these poems is a small shock to the system. Together, they are a bolt of lightning. Recommended #BlackLivesMatter reading in the vein of Of Poetry and Protest and Claudia Rankine's Citizen. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail: A Play by Jerome Lawrence - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail: A Play Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780809012237
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Hill & Wang - July 10th, 2001

I liked this book so much I stole it from my high school English class (Sorry Mrs. Sara, if you read this). However, please don't steal this book from the store. It's worth the $11. Teenage-highschool Katelynne and responsible-adult Katelynne both vouch for it. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


The Golden House by Salman Rushdie - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Golden House Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780399592805
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House - September 5th, 2017

The Next Great American Novel - as told from the immigrant's eyes. A family of four - three sons, one father - leave their homeland and re-invent themselves in the Land of Opportunity. But identity is not a demon so easily exorcised, and both their past and the future come to each Golden in their own cataclysmic way. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - kshimkus@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-9pm Fri-Sat 10am-10pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs