lmoore@northshire.com's blog

Share this

Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Midnight Riot Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345524256
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Del Rey Books - February 1st, 2011

London Constable Peter Grant is a grounded, scientifically minded, dependable officer of the law, which is why interviewing a witness to a murder didn't shake him. What did shake him was realizing the witness was a ghost. You just can't put that down on a form... Wonderful combination of wise-cracking British humor, good old-fashioned detective work, and magic, this series of stand alone novels will be a new favorite for fans of Dresden Files and Doctor Who. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Thornhill by Pam Smy - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Thornhill Cover Image
By Pam Smy, Pam Smy (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626726543
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 29th, 2017

Alternating stories, told through diary entries and illustration, a spine-chilling new book in the spirit of groundbreaking epic The Invention of Hugo Cabret.
1982: Orphan Mary, bullied beyond reason at Thornhill, a Victorian mansion where girls wait for foster family's to take them in.
2016: Ella, lonely in her new house, her window looking out on an abandoned Victorian mansion, wishing for a friend, sees a girl in the garden next door.... Keep your nightlight on for this one!! Great for ages 10-14! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Dear Martin by Nic Stone - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Dear Martin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101939499
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 17th, 2017

Bold, quick read, great for fans of The Hate U Give.
Through diary entries addressed to Dr Martin Luther King, Justyce tells us his story, opening with his first run-in with police discrimination. Although not physically harmed, the emotionally impact hits Justyce hard, and further encounters with racist "friends" and questionable allies make him take a whole new look at life in 21st century USA.
Strong storytelling and powerful ideas make this debut novel and must-read! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Before She Was Harriet by Lesa Cline-Ransome - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Before She Was Harriet Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780823420476
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Holiday House - November 7th, 2017

A story to inspire us, and remind us - never stop trying to change our world! Harriet had many names - Conductor, Spy, Daughter, Moses - and this book tells them all, and shows us, with beautiful illustration and text, the life of a great women and hero! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Queen of the Hanukkah Dosas by Pamela Ehrenberg - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Queen of the Hanukkah Dosas Cover Image
By Pamela Ehrenberg, Anjan Sarkar (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374304447
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - October 10th, 2017

A sweet story of a big brother, an over-active little sister, and tasty holiday treats! Celebrating the melding of family traditions and full of cute, colorful drawings, this book has the great trio: family, faith and food! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - lmoore@northshire.com's blog
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs